Sewing

Minions Mania: ‘The Minions Suit’

Last year, I made a suit from a Millennium Falcon Star Wars fabric for my little man. We are a little Star Wars crazy in this family, so the suit was an absolute hit.

2016 star wars suit 2.jpg
Millenium Falcon Star Wars Suit with matching vest and trousers.

So, when I stumbled over this really quirky Minions fabric the other day, I thought it would be REALLY funky to make a suit from bright yellow Minions fabric. It was so much fun seeing how much my little boy loved running around in his Star Wars Suit that I couldn’t wait to start working on a suit for another little boy. He might go crazy when he opens his Minions birthday surprise soon!

So, here it is:

2017 suit minions5
Reversible Minions Suit; Jacket, Vest and Trousers.

 

2017 suit minions6
Reversible Minions Suit, Jeans side visible.

 

2017 suit minions7
‘The Minions Suit’ worn by my 13 months old daughter for modeling purposes, still a little too big…

As you can see from the pictures, ‘The Minions Suit’ is completely reversible. One side is made from the Minions fabric and the other is made from a matching jeans fabric. It is almost like one owns two suits that can be mixed and matched to one’s desire.

Regarding the cutting patterns, I started off using the instructions from the book ‘Sewing for Boys‘ by Shelly Figueroa and Karen LePage for my son’s Star Wars suit. The featured patterns are beautiful and the end results are very sophisticated but they are for a regular jacket and pant only.

When my little man started wearing the suit, I realized that it was quite a shame that it was not reversible. I used a really nice Star Wars fabric for the lining also and I wanted to see it more. So, I decided to change that for the next suit I would make. I experimented around a little and the end-result is now my own adjusted version of the previous pattern for the jacket and a completely new pattern for the pants. The pattern for the vest is a free one I found on The Sewing Rabbit some years ago, since the mentioned book does not feature a vest.

I hope you like my version of the suit. If you are interested in owning one, the reversible suit is now also available in my Etsy Shop.
I hope you enjoyed reading this post. Thank you for clicking by!

If you are interested in seeing more of my handmade childrens’ clothing, please have a look at my Etsy shop TheJewelKnitter.
Please also have a look at my design jewellery blog LisaJuenProonK and my ProonK  Design Jewellery and Lisa Juen Art Jewellery websites.

 

2 thoughts on “Minions Mania: ‘The Minions Suit’

Leave a Reply

