Sewing

‘The Hearty Dress’

When I went shopping the other day, I stumbled over this really nice dark blue fabric with cherries that had a little bit of a retro vibe. Since I am a huge fan of that kind of thing, I couldn’t just walk by without getting a yard and once I had pulled that one out, I had to get a blue and white fabric with a zigzag print and a blue fabric with little white and yellow daisies also.

So, when I was home, I wanted to turn my finds into a special little dress that went with the vibe of the fabric. I decided to indulge in the retro theme and I designed a pattern with tulip sleeves, a tulip skirt and a heart-like appliqué for the bodice featuring buttons. I really enjoyed not working with someone else’s pattern this time but to create my own.
(I have experimented with a few other ideas before and I will write about a little Qipao dress, made from brocade silk for my little monkey soon but straying off on my own is still very new to me.)

For the most part, I am pretty happy with the result of ‘The Hearty Dress’ but there will be an improved version 2.0 coming up soon. I would like to change the look of the sleeves and I have been toying with the idea of adding ruffles also, instead of rickrack only. I’ll see…

For now, here is version 1.0, modeled by my little lady. (Of course she wouldn’t sit still…)
I hope you like it!

2017 hearty dress1
‘The Hearty Dress’, front

 

hearty dress4
‘The Hearty Dress’

 

hearty dress3
‘The Hearty Dress’, detail

 

hearty dress5
‘The Hearty Dress’

 

hearty dress2
‘The Hearty Dress’, back

 

I hope you enjoyed this post. Thank you for reading.

If you are interested in seeing more of my handmade dresses, please have a look at my Etsy store TheJewelKnitter.
Please also have a look at my design jewellery blog LisaJuenProonK and my ProonK  Design Jewellery and Lisa Juen Art Jewellery websites.

Leave a Reply

