knitted socks

Christmas Craziness 2015 – ‘Laura’

I would like to start off this blog with a little Christmas project I was working on for Christmas 2015.  My family loves hand-knitted socks and they really do make a great little gift. So, I decided to knit a pair of socks for all of them. As usual, I started off a little late, so I was super busy for the last few weeks leading up to the Holidays. Apart from one pair, I managed to finish them all. My brother-in-law Golan will get his within the next couple of weeks!

I love to knit socks, since they are a nice little project that does not take too long and that is not too boring to knit. Unlike a scarf for example, socks are divided in four parts, gusset, heel, foot and toe, that require a different kind of attention. I also like to switch it up by knitting different and new patterns with each pair of socks.

The first pair of socks I knitted were made for my sister-in-law Laura.

They are made from ‘Patons Kroy Socks’ (Brown Rose Marl) yarn with a lovely cable bow pattern on the top side of the foot. I think the pattern came out really nicely and goes quite well with the pink and grey color of the yarn.

The yarn is a 4-ply with a 75% wool and 25% Nylon mix. Although it says it’s #1 fingering weight yarn, I find it is thicker than regular sock yarn and the patterns/needle size should be adjusted slightly. It also does not run as long as other yarn, so keep that in mind for big sized socks. For women socks, 2 skeins are fine, for men over a size 43/44 (US10) you might need 3 skeins.

 

2015 christmas, laura2
Laura’s Christmas Socks, Cable Bow Pattern

 

2015 christmas, laura1
Laura’s Christmas Socks, Paton Kroy Sock Yarn

I hope you like them! For details on the pattern, please send me a message.

www.lisa-juen.com
www.proonk.com
@LisaJuenProonK
FB ProonK

Leave a Reply

