knitted socks

Christmas Craziness 2015 – ‘Dad’

2015 christmas, oldie2
Dad’s Christmas Socks 2015

The second pair of Christmas Socks 2015 was knitted for my dad.

The wool I used for these is from Cascade Yarns, Heritage Silk Paints (Shadows, Col.9751). It is made from 85% Merino Superwash Wool and 15% Silk. I have to say that this is one of the nicest yarns I have knitted so far. It is a little pricey (I paid $22.00 for a 100g skein) but it is well worth the money. It feels amazingly soft on the skin and according to my mum, it washes really well too. When knitting, I loved the twist that it has. The yarn did not split at all and the twist gave the pattern a very detailed and defined look, not like some other yarn that can look more ‘fluffy’ around the edges.

For the pattern, I chose a mixture of small cables, purls and ‘knit through the back loop’ stitches. In the middle are two rows of ‘KTBL’ stitches, surrounded by three small cable rows on the right and left. The heel is worked in the boomerang technique in a K2, P2 pattern. The sole is also K2, P2. I thought it might give the sock a little more springiness.

I hope you like them! Please get in touch for more information on the pattern.

2015 christmas, oldie1
Dad’s Christmas Socks 2015

Thank you for reading.

www.lisa-juen.com
www.proonk.com
@LisaJuenProonK
FB ProonK

Leave a Reply

